True North | Prospect GalleryFall Into Autumn Program of EventsCommunity Service AwardsCLIC
Visit the Library
Find Events
Invest in Prospect
View a Council Document
Contact Council
Make a Payment
Request a Service



In South Australia, all possums are protected (i.e. safeguarded against collecting, hunting or other activities) under the provisions of the National Parks and Wildlife Act, 1972.

There are five possum species in South Australia:

Common Brushtail Possum, Common Ringtail Possum, Western Pygmy-possum, Little Pygmy-possum and Eastern Pygmy-possum

The species most commonly encountered in natural and urban environments are the Common Brushtail Possum and Common Ringtail Possum.

Possums are nocturnal animals. Finding shelter and nesting sites is becoming the biggest challenge for these native animals. With the removal of many large old gum trees, possums have to seek shelter in other areas. For Common Brushtail Possums one common alternative is buildings with access to the roof space.

With a reduction in natural habitats due to urbanisation, native animals are often forced to live in close quarters with humans. The opportunity to observe native wildlife in your own backyard cannot be overstated; however, living with wildlife has its share of problems too.

This information (click here) aims to help solve problems that possums may be causing to your property. You will find a list of common questions and solutions to possum problems. If you still have questions or your problem is not covered please contact you local Department for Environment and Heritage (DEH) office.

Related Links